Book Reviews and Writing

I think that reading and writing go together like peanut butter and jelly.  A good writer needs to read, craves reading, lusts after shiny new books in Barnes and Noble and squeezes all their tax dollars out of the library.  I’m one of those aspiring writer people, and I’m also an avid reader with eclectic tastes.

Although I’m an adult, I enjoy reading young adult and middle grade novels.  I also dabble with non-fiction, the occasional literary fiction, and whatever else cries out “read me!” from the shelf.  Call of Kairos is a place where I’ll review books, offer thoughts, and invite reader reflections.  I think that although books are usually read alone, they’re best appreciated with the insights of others, so please feel free to comment.

Since I’m also a writer, I’ll offer reflections on the writing process and other thoughts that fall in the broad category of writing/publishing news.

I’ve named this blog Call of Kairos because I’ve always been a Madeline L’Engle fan, and her definition of chronos versus kairos stuck with me.  Both words are translated as “time” in English, but have distinct meanings in Greek.  Chronos is the everyday time we check on wristwatches, but kairos is a moment that takes us outside of time, a moment when we lose ourselves and regular time is utterly forgotten.  When a book captures our imaginations and hours slip by unheeded, we’re in kairos.  Likewise, when a writer is gripped by words and immersed in beauty, kairos is at hand.

Leave a comment

Filed under Thoughts

Leave a Reply

