Study Says E-Books Take Longer to Read

CNN recently outlined an interesting study on the speed of reading e-books versus printed books. Sure, the study has a relatively small sample size of 24 and gives some disclaimers about differences in reading speed not being statistically significant, but the general idea strikes me as significant.

So here’s what the study says: compared to reading a conventional printed book, people using e-readers read at speeds between 6.2 and 10.5 percent slower on the iPad and Kindle.

I’m actually surprised that the iPad boasted the “faster” designation of 6.2 percent, as I expected the e-ink of the Kindle to put it ahead of the glowy iPad screen. However, the iPad seems to switch pages faster than the Kindle, and its page switch is less distracting, so maybe that’s the golden ticket.

Personally, I still can’t grapple with the idea of giving up printed books for their cooler, electronic brethren. I’ve only used the iPad and Kindle at the mall/friend’s houses, but I’ve had no urge to ditch print. Along with other reasons, I just think print is a richer, more immersive experience. Apparently it’s more efficient too.

Still, in the end, I’ll put my betting money on overall convenience winning out and e-books dominating the marketplace. No one really wants to lug heavy backpacks of textbooks or cart around hardcovers in their carry-on luggage, and the study reports that ratings for the overall experience of reading on devices versus print were extremely close. As for me–my personal, book-buying money will still go towards pulpy paper and dog-eared pages.

2 Comments

Filed under e-books, Publishing industry news, Thoughts

2 responses to “Study Says E-Books Take Longer to Read

  1. This is interesting! I already feel like I’m a slow reader with regular books. I’m one of those that likes to ponder the details. 🙂 I’d hate to be any slower although I’m cuirious about e-books. I wonder about the Nook – that’s the one I have my eye one because it seems so much more affordable. For now, I’ll stick to getting my books 2nd hand or from the library. I rarely buy a new book unless I have a coupon. Thanks for bringing this article to my attention.

    • It does seem like e-books will get cheaper–I should look into the Nook. I’m with you with the library for now though. If libraries started lending books out electronically though, I would probably cave and buy the e-reader immediately. Glad you thought the article was interesting too!

Leave a Reply

